I Love/Hate Food.

BEANS! BEANS! BEANS!

Here is an account of my lesson on food and nutrition.

When I was a little girl, I hated eating.

At age nine I suffered a great loss and couldn’t stop eating. My weight fluctuated as much as my mood.

My weight was regulated in junior high, because I played sports. As a freshmen in high school, I was still happy with my body and weight.

Junior year, however, I got fat. Senior year, the numbers on the scale kept increasing ( 5″4′ and 165 lbs).

Then came my first break-up. I lost 40lbs and 220lbs of dead weight (the ex). Starting college, I looked great, felt full of confidence, and looked to the future.

Four years later, the weight came back after I moved to the west coast. I felt ill, back pain, stomach pain, and lack of energy. Sleep was my best friend. After a 1.5 years, I regained my heaviest weight.

Then I moved back to the east coast. I restarted my education for Art degree. A 25-year old surrounded by 18-21 year olds stands out like a sore thumb. School in NYC is a fashion show. These kids were stylish and full of energy. In contrast, I could barely drag my books and butt around. Being around them made it clear what I wanted.

When I earned my degree, life was officially starting. I was heavier than I wanted to be and lacked energy. I needed to gain control over my body and its bad habits.

One of the mothers I babysat for advised me and changed my life completely.

I asked her:

“If you could go back in time and give yourself at 25 a piece of advice, what would it be?”

She answered::

“I would tell myself to work out and learn what nutrition is sooner rather than later. I would sculpt my body as close to perfection as possible. If you don’t start NOW, it will just get harder. Your skin will lose it’s elasticity and you will get saggy and lose. Trust me, this is the best advice anyone will give you.”

She was right!

Immediately I purchased a bicycle and trained. I bicycled 25+ miles, 3 days a week. I swam. I started with one lap and now swim 50. I ran. I started with one block, and now run 2 miles. My body toned.

I cleared my fridge of tasty, bad treats and researched my weekly shopping list. No vegetable oil, only extra virgin olive oil (EVOO). No bread. (If I <b>must</b> have it, multigrain, low-carb bread.) Tons of veggies and fruits. No white rice, only brown. No dressing, only EVOO, vinegar, and sea salt. No deep frying. No chocolate in abundance. No empanadas with every meal. No chips. The list goes on. I learned how to eat again.

The weight came off slower than dieting. The numbers on the scale dropped slowly. At first I thought the scale was broken, but later I realized that weight does not equate to fitness.

Now I am 30 and feel better than I did when I was 17.

It’s a daily challenge. McDonald’s is across the street and the smell of their golden, delicious fries entices me to devour them. Occasionally I fall off but I get back on. I am harder on myself than I should be, but it’s only because I love myself. I know what I am capable of, and I do it.

Leave a Reply

