A Christmas Lesson.

NBravoSelfPeaceII

Find time to relax during this hectic, chaotic holiday season. This time of year makes a lot of people go crazy and suffer severe depression. In a world where people are searching for the perfect gift, people forget to take a moment to relax and unwind. This year, the majority of the gifts I am giving to my loved ones are hand made. I refuse to feed corporations money when I am an independent artist capable of making things with my own two hands. Society has fed in to the material craze and commercials have led us to believe the “best” gifts costs a lot of $$$. This is untrue. If parents teach their children that the best gifts come from the heart and not the wallet, they will pass that on to their kids and eventually Christmas might regain its original meaning: Family & Togetherness.

When I was a child I did something so terrible that changed the way I look at Christmas. My mother was an immigrant and single parent paying rent, paying bills and putting food on the table all on her own. I was in 4th grade and Timberland had just launched a huge campaign with their latest boots priced at $100 a pop. All the kids in school were rockin’ ( wearing) these. For Christmas I asked Santa for Timberland boots. My poor mother couldn’t afford buying her two daughters these expensive boots that would be outgrown in a matter of months. Christmas eve came along, my sister and I were eager beavers opening our presents. When a box landed on my lap, I thought to myself ” Yes!! Timberlands”. I ripped that paper apart like a tasmanian devil, only to find a box that said Fila .  Suddenly, I was transformed into an ungrateful child. I yelled out ” No!!!! This isn’t what I wanted! I asked for Timberlands! These are not Tims!  Can we return these? “.

My mother was so hurt, she scolded me and sent me to bed without opening the rest of my presents. My older sister later came to bed and explained that Mom had bought our presents and that she couldn’t afford to buy us Timberlands. She told me how hurt mom was because I was unhappy with the presents she had worked so hard to buy for us. That night I didn’t sleep. Not because I didn’t get my Tims, but because I had hurt my mother’s feelings. I remembered when I was out buying my mom’s gift with my savings, I felt bad that I didn’t have enough money to buy her something better. This is when I realized that my mother must have felt the same way, except she didn’t throw a tantrum like I did. The next day I got up and apologized to my mom for being such an ingrate and thanked her for my boots. She allowed me to keep the boots and open the remaining presents. January rolled around, school was back in session and I wore my “Non-Timberland” boots proudly. The school bully Cynthia made fun of me for being poor and not having Timbos like everyone else. I told her proudly ” I am proud to not be a follower and be different than everyone else.”

That year my mother gave me the best gift ever : a lesson I will never forget. Material things are less important than people’s feelings. The best gifts come from the heart and not from the wallet. So I ask you all, this Christmas, please pass on this lesson to your family and children. It’s not about being cheap but simply about the principle. Video game consoles, televisions, expensive jewelry, designer bags and UGGs are the worst possible gifts you can give another person. These things won’t help develop a person’s mind, it will only demotivate and distract them. Remember the following:

      The Best Things In Life Are Free

“The moon belongs to everyone
Best things in life they’re free
Stars belong to everyone
They cling there for you and for me

Flowers in spring
The robins that sings
The sunbeams that shine
They’re yours and their mine

Love can come to everyone
Best things in life they’re free

Moon belongs to everyone
The best things in life, they’re free
Stars belong to everyone
They glitter there for you and for me
They are yours and me

Flowers in spring
The robins that sing
Sunbeams that shine
They’re yours and their mine

Love can come to everyone
Best things in life they’re free
All of the good things
Every one of the better things

The best, best things in life
They’re free! “

~Sam Cooke 

P.S. Mom, I’m sorry for being such a brat when I was younger. Thank you for the valuable lesson.

12 thoughts on “A Christmas Lesson.

  1. I love this post! I, too, had a few bratty moments as a child, but I have learned that family and togetherness are what Christmas is really about, and am striving to teach my children this. Hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

    • Thank you for reading.
      That is the greatest gift ever. Kids will forget toys and clothes, they will remember the good times with their family in the long run. Photos will help them remember and share them with their kids in the future.

      Happy Holidays!
      Peace, ❤ and 🙂 Always!

  2. This is beautiful ~ thank you! Moreover, I have a very similar Buddha statue in my home… Synchronicity!

  3. Hi Natali,
    Loved your post as well and am envious of your occupation! Always have loved capturing those special moments and to be able to make a living doing it . . . wow! Hope you’ll continue to follow and I will as well!
    God’s Blessings,
    Devoted to Yeshua (aka: Kathleen)

Leave a Reply

