World’s Fair: Kodak 1964 World’s Fair Camera

In preparation for tomorrow’s 50th anniversary celebration of the New York World’s Fair I am gathering my gear.

Nbravokodakwf4

I will be photographing this event using the camera designed by Kodak specially for the 1964 World’s Fair.

Nbravokodakwf6

 I even purchased film from the 1960’s to go along with the camera.

Nbravokodakwf5

Tomorrow, I will be traveling back in time with my camera to 1964 .  Nbravokodakwf3

It isn’t everyday I peel open a box of film that was made 50 years ago.

Nbravokodakwf

This will be my first time shooting 127 film.

Nbravokodakwf1

Pretty groovy right?
Nbravokodakwf2

Have you shot 127 film before? Any advice? Thoughts?

UPDATE: Before writing this post, I emailed the previous owner of the camera with a few questions, the most important question being, “where did you get the camera?”

So the story goes a little something like this:

In 1964 her grandparents went to the New York World’s Fair. During the fair, they purchased the 1964 Kodak World’s Fair camera pictured above. When they returned to Virginia, they gave the camera as a present to their 12 year-old granddaughter. She used the camera for a few years and off it went into storage at her mother’s house. Recently, her mother moved and she found her camera. The camera still had some film, she processed it and then decided to sell it instead of letting it collect dust. She listed it. I found it. She was kind enough to sell the camera to me and the rest is now NYWF art history.

5 thoughts on “World’s Fair: Kodak 1964 World’s Fair Camera

  1. Wow! I think that film was long gone even before I was born, as far as current technology goes. The earliest I remember is 110 and of course the mega-sized polaroids. Looking forward to the things the lens sees. : )

  2. Pingback: World’s Fair: 50th Anniversary | Savoring Moments

  3. 126 film I remember well, but it was designed for a basic point and shoot camera, it came in 100 and 400 speed. The largest film I ever used was 8×10, yes that is inches. I was working at Centry color lab in Rochester at the time and it was a very large (room size) land camera. They also had very large camera on rails used for duratrance film. It was a great place to work, sadly they went under, dam that digital crap.

  4. I have a few 127-Kodachrome slides from the 1964 Fair. For general shooting I loved using 127 Kodachrome and Ektachrome because it yielded larger images that still fit in a Carousel projector. I also used a lot of Agfa-chrome film as well. But that was in a time long, long ago.

  5. I was 10 yrs old when my family went to New York for the fair. I bought that camera and still have it.

Leave a Reply

