Diary of a Rejected Artist.

Dear Moment Savorer,

Allow me to fill you in a little bit about why it is good to be me. Last November, I went and saw my estranged father (click here to read that post).  This kick-started the healing process of my soul. Upon returning home, I was determined to move forward on to the next step of my artistic career. I began applying for grad school. I spent the winter in hibernation mode, gathering images, editing, researching, editing, writing and rereading. All day and all night was spent on my applications for grad school.

A few days after my birthday this year, I received the first response from a school. I was rejected! This was a massive blow. Depression knocked on my door, and my days became slightly blue. Still, I picked myself up and dusted myself off and the universe presented me with this ’64 NYWF project (Click here to read about my ’64 NYWF project) and the trip to Argentina (read that post here). The month of April was an incredible month for my work and for the healing of my soul.

Still, I eagerly checked my mailbox every day waiting for a response from grad schools. A few days ago, I received an email from a second grad school, saying sorry, but we will not be extending an invitation your way. REJECTED AGAIN!

This time, I allowed myself to cry just one good cry, and move on. I’m leaving in 4 days to begin my photographic journey and life has been sooooo sweet. I could dwell on the sadness of the rejection or I can look at the great things happening not only to me but all of those around me. My choice, focus on the positive things happening and not the negative ones. Be grateful for what you DO have and make the best of it.

While packing my bags for my trip, I received a phone call from a grad school. They ACCEPTED me! I couldn’t be happier.  Life has balance. Life is good. In no way am I trying to rub my happiness in anyone’s face. My life is great and wonderful, I too have worries and problems but I refuse to let them define me. Without rejection, acceptance wouldn’t taste as sweet. I am grateful to have learned the lesson and won’t ever forget it. My soul is healing nicely, finally I am in control of my emotions and my life. The road ahead awaits and I am looking forward to walking it!

 ❤

NSB

UPDATE:

After returning from my trip, I met the wonderful professor that informed me of my acceptance to the MFA program. He notified me that I, Natali S. Bravo have received a full scholarship to the graduate program. Incredibly grateful for this oppurtunity, words will not suffice.  It is my time to step up to the plate and shine.

NBravoBaliSunrise

 

5 thoughts on “Diary of a Rejected Artist.

  1. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually
    come back at some point. I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice afternoon!

Leave a Reply

